PCMA Names 2022 Global Meetings Executive of the Year at IMEX in Frankfurt

The honor goes to Patrizia Semprebene Buongiorno of AIM Group International.

Patrizia Semprebene Buongiorno PCMA Exec of the Year
Patrizia Semprebene Buongiorno (center) accepts the Global Meetings Executive of the Year award from PCMA president and CEO Sherrif Karamat (left) and IMEX Group chair and founder Ray Bloom (right).

The Professional Convention Management Association has named Patrizia Semprebene Buongiorno, vice president of AIM Group International, Global Meetings Executive of the Year. PCMA president and CEO Sherrif Karamat presented the award last night at the IMEX in Frankfurt Gala Dinner.

"I am honored to present the 2022 Global Meetings Executive of the Year Award to a leader I truly admire and respect," said Karamat, who is also president and CEO of PCMA's subsidiary, the Corporate Event Marketing Association (CEMA). "Patrizia is a fearless leader with a drive for continued innovation and commitment to developing our next generation of industry leaders."

Buongiorno, who is based in Italy, is a 30-year veteran of the meetings industry and is recognized for her unwavering commitment to professional development. In addition to her vice president role at AIM, she is president of AIM Communication, an open innovation network specializing in communications for the health-care sector. She also teaches tourism management, event organization, green meetings, marketing and communications at several international universities.

In a volunteer role, Buongiorno is secretary general of FIMAC, the International Foundation Doctors for Central Africa, a nonprofit organization that aims to improve the health conditions of people in Central Africa through cooperative humanitarian projects.

"I am honored to receive such an important recognition, especially in these challenging times," said Buongiorno. "I really would like to thank all the AIM Group team and dedicate this award to them, because what I have been able to do as a leader was inspired by their commitment and creativity and implemented into our daily work practice by them. As event professionals we can be proud of having been able to navigate such stormy seas with courage and determination, giving new future perspectives to our industry."

Past recipients of the Global Meetings Executive of the Year Award include:

2019: Carola van der Hoeff, chief operating officer and congress director at International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP)
2018: Ben Goedegebuure, general manager for EMEA at Maritz Global Events
2017: Roberta A. Kravitz, executive director at the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine
2016: Janet Tan-Collis, chief executive of East West Planners Pte Ltd.
2015: Pieter Swart, CMP, CMM, managing director of Conference Consultancy South Africa (PTY)
2014: Phelps R. Hope, CMP, vice president, meetings and expositions at Kellen Meetings
2013: David L. Williams, CMP, executive director at the International Association for Energy Economics
2012: Ping He, director of global sourcing and partner relations at Experient