. SITE Recognizes 3 Incentive Travel Professionals | Northstar Meetings Group

SITE Recognizes 3 Incentive Travel Professionals

Benoit Sauvage was named member of the year; two others were recognized for their contributions to SITE and the industry.


Benoit Sauvage, DMCP, CMP, CIS, was recognized as the SITE member of the year during the incentive travel association's global conference, which took place last month in Bangkok. The CEO of Connect DMC (pictured), was lauded for his commitment to grow and promote SITE. The certified sustainable event professional, who serves as president of the SITE Florida & Caribbean chapter, is a member of the both SITE's and the Events Industry Council's sustainability committees.

Two other industry pros were honored during the conference. Krzysztof Michniewicz, CIS, president, ICP Group, was the recipient of the Kevin Forde Spirit Award, which is presented each year to a SITE member who dedicates time and energy to incentive travel professionals and volunteer roles.  Steve O'Malley, division president, Maritz Travel, received the Richard Ross Past-President's Award, which recognizes an individual or organization that has furthered the vision, ideals and ethics of SITE. The 2019 chair of Meeting Professionals International board of directors, will be among the industry leaders who will headline Northstar Meeting Group's Incentive Live event, which takes place next month in Chicago. 

Additionally, two individuals were recipients of the David Riddell Memorial Scholarship, which allowed them to attend the global conference. Sandra Fahy, conferences officer, Dublin Convention Bureau, and Yingzhe Zhao, a student at Australia National University, were selected by the SITE Foundation for their enthusiasm and dedication to developing careers in the incentive travel industry.